USSR Champion 1936(о), 1938, 1939, 1952, 1953, 1956, 1958, 1962, 1969, 1979, 1987, 1989 Cup of USSR 1938, 1939, 1946, 1947, 1950, 1958, 1963, 1965, 1971, 1992 Russia Champion 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001 Cup of Russia 1994, 1998, 2003 Призы
Aditional Materials


Spartak Moscow returned to play Thursday evening with a 1-1 draw, honours even, with host St. Gallen in the opening leg of Europa League tie.

With a short week of recuperation and looking ahead to Monday's test against Amkar Perm, Red-Whites manager Valeriy Karpin made six changes to his most recent line-up starting with European debuts of Artem Timofeev and Vyacheslav Krotov, along with Juan Insaurralde, Kirill Kombarov, Pavel Yakovlev and Diniyar Bilyaletdinov for Salvatore Bocchetti, Sergei Parshivlyuk, José Jurado, Dmitriy Kombarov, Denis Glushakov and Aras Özbiliz.

Opportunities were sparse in the early going but to the delight of Spartak’s loyal followers who made the trip to Switzerland the Red-Whites went in front 1-0 eight minutes shy of the break as Yura Movsisyan stretched out fully to volley Tino Costa’s spellbinding diagonal cross by St. Gallen goalkeeper Daniel Lopar. The hosts responded quickly with a defending miscue deep in the Spartak final third providing Dejan Janjatović a gifted chance but the Bayern Munich product sent his drive wide of the right post.

At the break Mr. Karpin called upon Denis Glushakov for Artem Timofeev but wasted little time at barely two minutes after the restart veteran Marco Mathys pulled away from his mark to head a cross on the right from Luxembourg international Mario Mutsch into the net and square the contest. Searching for attacking venom the Spartak tactician summoned Lucas Barrios for Yura Movsisyan just shy of the hour but the hosts were resolute in defending and without further incident the contest ended as a 1-1 draw, honours even.

Prepared by John Davies for Spartak Moscow


other news

VIP-ложи, «Открытие Арена»
Карта Гладиатора
Аренда полей
Титульный партнер Чемпионата России по футболу
Титульные партнеры клуба

Copyright 2010 FC Spartak Moscow

Advertise on